ZINE REVIEWS

ABYSMAL SCULPTURES (Singapore)
Issue 1, April 2002
40 page, A4, clear xerox but I guess the original master copy was printed using a printer which the print head is not clean for ages. The cover is in laser color xerox which you can't see very often. The back cover contains picture collage of Beast Petrify and Archaic Burial. If you haven't known yet, Al-Fahmi is the vocal and guitar for the Singaporean great metal band Beast Petrify. The interviews were supposed to be in Silent Empire Zine but then Fahmi made his own. Good interviews with The Forgotten, Archaic Burial (with Silent Empire's editor), Effluvium plus 7 more. There is also review on gore movies. Pretty usual this days but you can't read elsewhere the one with Indonesian/Malay movies. Layout, typography can be made better.
c/o Al-Fahmi, Blk 345, Yishun Ave 11, #06-173, Singapore 760345.

4/5

ADIWANGSA (Malaysia)
Issue 1, 2001

Do you remember the zine/newsletter I rated 0 in the last issue? This is the continuation of that zine. There are vast improvements compared with their last issue, especially in the layout. The news are well-edited and well-arranged and this issue also includes (quite interesting) interviews with local Mentharas, Fullmoon Brides and Astaroth. The xerox quality is not really good and as well as the print but I think the editors are wise since they know that the xerox and their printer can't print well, so very few amount of picture available in this 20 A4/2 pages. It is in Malay written and available for RM 2 + 50 sen stamp.
Syahrul Effendy, J 7412, Jalan Ru, Tmn Maju, 77000 Jasin, Melaka.
2/5

 

ALLIED METAL LEGIONS February-March 2002-#3
A 4 page (A4) publication, xerox. AML is quite an interesting project. The guys behind it come from 5 different countries. This issue contains reviews, some flyers and an interview with Death strike Records (Germany). Neat layout (cut n paste and also computer layout, 3 columns per page). Great to see these guys can work and make this zine together. The reviews are on underground stuff, which rarely you can find in normal magazine. This is what we want to do with Asian Metal Force. If not in Asia, at least on the Southeast Asia region. You know how hard to make an informative project with only 2 guys in Malaysia and India covering the whole Asia? To lessen the burden, we need people from around Asia to write about their country/place (review, gig report, news, etc). Until now no one interested or reply to our 'invitation'. But if we can't get someone, we will still continue the project.
c/o AML America
allied_metal_legions@yahoo.com
3/5

AMPUTATION (Sweden)
Issue 6, Winter 2000/Spring 2001

I am impressed with the layout on the first few pages and it will great if the whole zine in the same style. Too many blank space on the review section. Interviews with Fleshcrawl, Nominon, Hypnos, Pandemia, Origin, Regurgitate, hate Eternal, Immolation and Immersed In Blood. 40-page, A4 size, all in glossy paper. I couldn't find the editor address.
Micke Skala, Hagerstensvagen 161b, Hagersten, 126 53 Stockholm, SWEDEN
amputation666@hotmail.com
3.5/5

AUTOEROTICASPHXIUM (USA)
Issue 6, 2001
"The Way of the Old School Reborn" is the motto of this zine. I have to ask them what that mean. The zine is neatly done by computer with some picture/flyers paste to fill up space. 78, full size (I don't know what's the size of the paper actually and it ain't A4) and clear xerox. Interviews with: Berdoo (Usa), Black Hole Magazine (Brazil), Braindance (Usa), Brutalism (Netherlands), Burning Shadow Zine (Greece), Adaver, Inc. (Norway), Chaos Theory (Usa), Debbie D (Usa), Dbn Magazine (Usa), Fog (Usa), Fracture Films (Usa), God Forbid (Usa), Inbreed (Usa), Intense Hammer Rage (Australia), Kingdom Of Uberheim (Usa), Lamentation Zine (Hungary), Listenable Records (France), Metal Rules! Magazine (Usa), Troma Entertainment (Usa), Violated Rot (Usa) And Zyklon (Norway). There are always some space after the interview ends (they used 1 column per page) and they nicely put flyers to fill the space.
Autoeroticasphyxium, 3 Maple St., Garden City, NY 11530-1812 USA.
http://www.maxpages.com/aeazine Kharis18@hotmail.com

3.5/5

BLACKHAQ (Malaysia)
Issue 1, 2001

Malaysian scene has move to a direction where most of the band, zine, etc will be named very uniquely, and perhaps has very deep meaning but sometimes it is hard to say and write. Blackhaq is not the good example of this but maybe later you will find some review of them later. They made their zine in A3 folded into 2, which mean the size is A4. It is very comforting reading zine like this instead of A4 paper stapled on the left. Clean, tidy layout but there is a lot of space between the column and on the page border. They wasted a lot of space for that and to make thing worse, they use large size font. Interview with Arkhaytul Mayt, Holydness, Eternal Throne, Nightmare, Azariath, Surrender Of Divinity, Brutal Noise Zine, Mentharas, Sauts Alastor, Sarang Maut, Samartary and Mind Snare. Just ordinary questions about their releases, line-up, etc. Not really interesting especially interview with unknown band. By the way they answering the question, I think some of them not worth the space to be in here. Some band bio, news and review on zine. No page number, no table of content. Well, lot of thing should be done to make the next issue a lot better than this one. I finish reading this 52 pages zine in 1 hour. Guess how many reading material available here? They have 2 editors and I believe they can do more than this next time.
Firdaus Taufeq, 1095, Lorong Panglima, Jalan Tunku Bendahara, 09000 Kulim, Kedah, Malaysia.
2/5

BLEEDING IN CANVAS (Thailand)
Issue 4, 2001
40, A4 pages. Yongyuth, the same editor of WORSHIPSATAN Zine is behind this mag. I noticed that Thai editor made their zine in separate concept. For example, BLEEDING IN CANVAS only feature death metal and Yongyuth made WORSHIPSATAN for black metal. If you read the Thai scene report, you will know. Comparing this with Yongyuth other zine, there are few good and bad things. Good; it is in English. Bad; bad xerox quality. Just like I expected (I read WORSHIPSATAN first before reviewing this), the questions are quite boring. You can get all the info from the band's website. The interesting one is with his countrymate, Dark Mystery. The rest; Vomitory, Thorns Of The Carrion, Suicidal Winds, Krabathor, Astarte, Draconis Sanguis, Mystic Circle, Opera IX, Lykos Zine (UK) & Tripalium (phi). A4, xerox, 40 page. Price $3 (Asia) / $4 (r.o.w).
c/o Yongyuth Hongsa, P.O.Box 83, Huamark, Bangkok, 10243 Thailand.
worshipsatanmag@hotmail.com worshipsatanmag@yahoo.com

2/5

BLEEDING IN CANVAS (Thailand)
Issue 5, 2002
56 pages, half-size. Yongyuth have changed the format of the zine but everything else is still the same. Brutal death zine but I think he misplaced a band here. Interview with: Hypnos, Bilharzia (Malaysia), Lacerate, Kekal, Vile, Manifest, carved In Flesh, Severe Torture and Ordo Draconis (black metal, this is the band I talked about earlier). Some nude pics included (as usual). Yongyuth must improve the way he writes and also the interview but the most important is his English. Boring interviews. On some interviews it looks like he blindly ask some questions to the band which is very ridiculous (or hilarious) if you read it. I know he really put a lot of effort making this zine but he need to put more.
c/o Yongyuth Hongsa, P.O.Box 83, Huamark, Bangkok, 10243 Thailand.
worshipsatanmag@hotmail.com worshipsatanmag@yahoo.com

2/5

BORDER OF MISTY TIMES (Indonesia)
Issue 2, 2001
60, A4 pages with bad xerox. Really bad xerox. The content is quite interesting, although it is in Indonesian but I can understand most of the content. The zine features lots of Indonesian bands. The questions are not interesting but I know nothing about the band, so it is okay this time. Interview; Venduzor, Maelstorm, Ahli Kubur, Mystis, Tarancula, Social Sickness, Hellgodz, Corpse Vomit, Santet, Vulgar Death, Nocturnal Orchestra, Criminal Vagina, Vitallysm, Drosophilla, Infection Corpse, Blasphemous plus some bands bio. All these are from Indonesia. The layout can be made better, the font is too large. Uun Yuniar is now working in East Malaysia but I can't give his address here since he moves a lot. If you write him, don't expect a quick reply.
c/o Uun Yuniar, Jln. H.R.A. Rahman, Gg. Harapan #23 Rt. 03/VI Pontianak Barat 78115, Kalbar, Indonesia.

2.5/5

CANADIAN ASSAULT (usa)
Issue 5, 2000
"The Poser Killer Crusade" is the theme for this issue. Yes, go kill those sweet metal, Korn/Limp Bizkit, metalcore lover! 68 page, A5, pro-printed. The new format is much better. Interviews include Denial Of God, Rebaelliun, Tales Of The Macabre zine, Destruktor(Astrla), Disgorge, Necrodeath, Svartsyn, Dekapitator, Urgrund, Desecration and a shitload more!! Including 2 porn actress interviews, "Ancient album reviews", Killer Quotes, Ye Olde flyer pages (Including cult OLD flyers from Sacrifice, Slaughter, King Diamond, Necrovore, Repulsion etc). Issue #6 is now available. Get this one first!
c/o Dale Roy, Apt. #1, 6318 Bingham Street, Philadelphia, PA. 19111, USA. metaldale@hotmail.com

5/5

CAT SCENES Newsletter (Malaysia)
Volume I, Issue 1, October 2000

I read a zine called Capital Letter, the first issue that is, and what a crappy zine. Now the editor made another project and I am surprise with the change. Clean, professional layout but the xerox and the printing can be improved. As the n/letter's name say, this is a newsletter that bring you the info on the whole Kuching (with pronunciation in Malay, it bring the meaning of 'cat' in English) scene. Not just the underground scene, but non-underground related (or at least I think so) like place to eat, etc. That is quite original and useful to those who want to know more about this city. With this kind originality, with an 'okay' quality of article and news, 4 A4 pages, English written publication sold at the price of 80 sen, how much do you think I will rate this?
Carolina, 12C Lot 774, Lrg 4, Tmn Penrissen Bt. 11 1/2, KM 20 Jln Kuching/Serian, 93250 Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia.
dirtybride@yahoo.com
3/5

CHERISH THE DARKNESS (Thailand)
Issue 4
Rine (of the band Heretic Angels) are one of the editors of this zine. I got this brand new zine from them. Looks like it was just out from the printing shop but the content is very old, as old as 1994! Pro-printed, b&w, fullsize, 25 page, written in Thai. I don't understand a thing but some of it I do know. The South East-Asia u/g report featured Malaysian bands which all of them was in Intrusion of Dark Journey. That comp was released in 1994/95. Most of the bands and the label are now r.i.p. Clean, nice layout and lots of picture. Not bad but only understandable by Thais.
125, Moo 5 (Soi Watson), Suksawat 35, Rajburana, 10140 Thailand.
ctdz@yahoo.com
4/5

COREK SEMANDANG PUTIH (Malaysia)
Issue 2, 2000

The zine is quite thick compared with the content available. If they are not using the ‘ancient’ typewriter, the number of page can be reduced (and means the price can be reduced too). Written in Malay and English, 40 A4 pages, Xeroxed. 40 pages, A4 and xeroxed. Interviews with Officium Triste, Atavism, Sermon, Flatulation, Vrykolakas, Morbituary, Demizer, Distrust, Pyron, Nasruhak. Interviews with the local bands are much more interesting than the one with oversea bands. Just a fair issue and need a lot of improvement if they want to distant their self from countless of (crap) zines in the local zine.
c/o Junaidi Juan, Unit A016 (B), Ground Floor, Podium Level Financial Park, 87008 W.P. Labuan.
2.5/5

DARK LEGIONS (Singapore)
Issue 4, July 2001
Almost a year after this mag is released I made this review. You will not know how hard it is to get copies of this mag. Okay, go on to the review. 44 page, full size, printed on glossy paper. Interviews with: Gurkkhas, Ancient Rites, Stormcrow, Nefarium, Ezurate, Merendine Atomiche, Korihor, Apocalyptic Raids, Mute Productions, South East Asia Metal Force Website, Severed Head, Paul Nelson, Neurotic Of Gods, Vomitory, Enforce, Sedition & Destroyer 666. This is their best issue to date. It's very professional this time. They still have "Aspiring" (column for new bands) featuring Steel Glory and Ceasura from Singapore. The new feature is "Hail Legions!" where reader's mail is printed and Makhluq answering them. It is fun reading them. The new issue is not yet draft at the time the review is made (26 May 2002).
c/o Makhluq, Blk 233, #04-418, Jurong East Street 21, Singapore 600233.
darklab@hotmail.com

5/5

DARKNESS TREASURE (France)
Issue 1, 2000

44-page, A4 size, clear xeroxed. My copy #187/2000. Neat layout and well-arranged (except for some interview where the font is quite big) but as I said in many zine reviews before, page number and table of content are also important and background image is not suitable for this kind of publication. Bio/interviews with Ulcerrhoea, Belenos, Misanthrope, Impaled Nazarene, Imperial, Exkrement, Celestia, Uranus, Judas Iscariot, Impiety, Moonblood, Yyrkoon, Blizzard and column called "Five Questions To..." being asked to Chanteloup Creations. Beside review (no news), also included Romanian scene report and an article on J.R.R. Tolkien. The interviews are short and I guess Lord Azmoth already know a lot of the band and the questions are more like asking update news, some question that are not related to music, which is quite interesting. You, it is quite boring to ask the 'history of the band' and etc cliché question that are not really important or interesting to be known especially when you already know the band. This kind of approach is what I will do for my next issue.
Forgotten Wisdom Production, c/o Thomas Bernollin, 34 rue St. Desire, 39000 Lons le Saunier, France.
Thomas.bernollin@wanadoo.fr
3.5/5

DARKNESS TREASURE (France)
Issue 2, 2001

48-page, A4 size, clear xeroxed. Layout-wise, much better than the previous issue. The background image is in the right tone, and this time available table of content and page number (although it is hand-written...) that make this zine a lot better. The interview is a bit longer this time. Interviews with My Dark Sin, Maniac Butcher, Oskorei Mag, Horna, Kristallnacht, Gurkkhas, Demonic, Kratornas, Stargazer, Noctis, Antaues, Blessed In Sin, Fleshcrawl, Devilry and Baltak. This time "Five Questions To..." being asked to View Beyond Records and there's a Chilean scene report, which is quite short and not really informative. Just general info on the scene made by the editor of Nocturnal Possession Zine.
Forgotten Wisdom Production, c/o Thomas Bernollin, 34 rue St. Desire, 39000 Lons le Saunier, France.
Thomas.bernollin@wanadoo.fr
3.5/5

DEADHEAD (Malaysia)
Issue 2, 2000

Another good issue from Syamsul. 60 pages, A4 size, clear xerox and with hard pro-printed cover. This time, he includes review although a bit short in describing the stuffs. And he even burdens himself by putting the logo of the stuffs he reviewed. All interviews are great except for NARSAMUM and CRANIAL TORMENT, which are quite boring (no wonder their music sound so average). I just wonder how did he manage to interview 'big' bands such as SARCÕFAGO, D.R.I, AGENT STEEL, MANILLA ROAD, TWISTED TOWER DIRE, CIRITH UNGOL, SABBAT (japan), etc ?? Other interviews; PUNISHER, HERRIOT, TANDUS, LANGSUIR, SEASONAL ABYSS, GRIND EMPIRE PROD., SILENT DEATH, EREBUS, MINDSNARE, DEPRESSION, KRANIUM CELTIC FROST, UNPURE, DEAD HEAD, RAZOR, INFERNÄL MÄJESTY, OLD FUNERAL, Metalion of SLAYER MAGAZINE, NOCTURNAL BREED, Nicholas Claux (vampire from Paris), ROOT, ENTRAILS and IN DEED HELL MAGAZINE. With such great content, some improvement should be made I guess. The layout can be done better and the picture should be print clearer and sized properly. RM9 / US$6.
Wan Syamsul, 10, Lorong Lang Tompok, Taman Sri Bintang, Kepong, 52100 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
4/5

DESECRATION OF VIRGIN (Germany)
Issue 5, 2001
72 page, pro-printed. This issue features lots of South American band compared with other 'exotic metal'. Interview: Masacre, Vomitor, Blasphemy, Agatus, Pagan Rites, Goat Semen, Sabbat, Infernal, Mortuary Drape, Basilisk, Amon, Kaamos, Diabolical, Manipulated Slaves, Maniac Butcher, Cadaver Incubador, Random Violence, Embalmed Souls, Excarnated, Decayed, Sanctimony, D.O.God, Beast Petrify, Impiety, and many more including articles. Glossy-ly printed, cut n' paste layout, lots of pics/logos. D.O.V. is the master in 'exotic' metal zine! Period!
c/o King Wolle, P.O.Box 1470, 56804 Cochem/Mosel, Germany.

4.5/5

DESECRATION OF VIRGIN (Germany)
Issue 4

Interview: Posthumous, Manatark, Fornication, Mental Horror, Zoltar, Negura Bunget, Necroflesh, Secrets Of The Moon, Gospel Of The Horns, Embalmed Souls, Lethal Curse, Eschatos, Hornagest, Homicide, Infernal, Destruktor, Torture Squad, Black Angel, Unpure, Krabathor, Hypnosia, Zemial, Rok. 1 long Malaysian scene report, reviews are pasted everywhere. The most interesting part is all the bands here are quite obscure and exotic bands (except for few), already make the zine's trademark. The layout is a bit messy but I prefer it this old fashion way. Also lots of reviews on stuffs that you don't even know it is available since it is too underground. Another cool picture of Zemial here. 56 page, A4 size, glossy printed, no page number and table of content.
c/o King Wolle, P.O.Box 1470, 56804 Cochem/Mosel, Germany.
4.5/5

DOMAIN ZINE (Singapore)
Issue 2, 2001

60 xerox A4 pages. Syaiful did improve a bit on the layout and a bit better than the previous issue but it can be better than now. Interview with Calvaria, Depression, Doxomedon, Misfortune, Abvul Abashy, Eternal Oath, Twin Obscenity, Nocturnal Winds, Surrender Of Divinity, Kibosh Sibyl Kismet, Immortal Rites, Ledo Takas Mag., Bastardized, Requiem, Impiety and Fenrir. And the interesting part is the column called "From The Dark Past" featuring interview with Singapore bands made in early 90's taken from other zines (Belial, Seventh Gates, Silent Sorrow, Debauchery, Beheaded Nasrani, Behemoth and Blood Angel). Quite original I think. It will be great if the pictures are printed clearer but since it is a xerox publication, I can't hope much. Everything is almost fine if the printing shop did not fucked up with the front cover. They must be Christian I guess and very unprofessional at work.
S$ 5 (Sin) / RM 9 (Mal) / USD 5 (r.o.w) from:
c/o M. Syaiful, Blk 670A #17-503, Choa Chu Kang Crescent, Singapore 681670.
costos666@hotmail.com
4/5

ENCOMIUM (Ukraine)
Issue 2, 1999

An outdated zine but it is still available for sale. The question of outdated or not is not a problem if you want to discover new metal act from country like Ukraine. That is my reason of getting this magazine. The local acts (Ukraine, Russia, etc) are Mental Demise, Sermon, Sunchariot, Forgotten Spirit, Crypthowl, Ora Pro Nobis and Xul. The oversea acts are Soulburn, Ancient Ceremony, Pathology Stench, Internal Bleeding, Devastation Inside, Sickness, Absu, Shock, Gooseflesh, Aphasia, Horde Of Worms, Wasteland, Enslave, Duskfall, Acid Death, Demimonde, Ancient, Avulsion, Catholicon, Immortal Dominion. All these are cramped into 56 A4 pages including Peru scene report, 19 pages (lots) of reviews on audio/zine/video. Neat layout and quite interesting interviews. If you want to know some info about Ukrainian metal scene, you can start here.
c/o Kornel Kontros, Yarockaya str.7, 88000 Uzhgorod, Ukraine.
cornelius@kontr.uzhgorod.ua http://welcome.to/encomium
4/5

ETERNAL DARKNESS (usa) Issue 13, 1999
CANADIAN ASSAULT (usa) Issue 4, 1999

Glossy print cover, the content is in newsprint format. This is the first time I am reviewing a split zine so I am not sure whether to make single review or make a separate review but since they come in one piece, I choose to make a single review. ETERNAL DARKNESS side features new and old interview from Lust, Unpure, Nunslaughter, Vulpecula, Incubus, Order From Chaos and Sadistik Exekution pictures. 2 column perpage, few reviews and Keith Dempte made the interview in the form of an article. On CANADIAN ASSAULT side, the first page starts with an interview with a porn star, Shane. Others : Kaamos, Pagan Records, Immolation, Rites Of Thy Degringolade, Damnation Records, lots of review, a column where Dale put some quotes from band interview taken from zine, and a rant column (where he write the things he dissatisfy).
Eternal Darkness Creations, P.O.Box 268 Corapolis, PA 15108, USA.
Canadian Assault c/o Dale Roy, Apt. #1, 6318 Bingham Street, Philadephia, PA 19111, USA. metaldale@hotmail.com http://members.nbci.com/metaldale
3.5/5

ETERNAL FIRE (France)
Issue 3, 2001
80 pages, A4 size, xerox. Interviews: Temple Of Baal, Sanatorio, Tales Of The Macabre, Engrave, Manitu, Levifer, Sermonize, Goat Semen, Disinter, Anal Vomit, Abominator, Destructor, Gosple Of The Horns, Atomizer, Razor Of Occam, Vomitor, Arghoslent, Surrender Of Divinity, Melechesh, Kratornas, Magane, HMSS, Cut Throat. Some gig reports, article. This is the first issue since ETERNAL FIRE merge with NOCTURNAL CONSPIRACY. Issue #3 features tons of info’s on Peruvian, Brazilian and Australian and the contents are really informative and in-depth. The editors really support the exotic metal scene. Neat layout and of course there is few minor deficiency but Karnage told not to judge the 'look' of the zine but the content. Believe me, you can read a lot in those 80-page (like reading 100++ page!).
c/o Karnage Vallot, 16 rue de la sente fluerie, 28600 Luisant, France.
4.5/5

EXTRASHIT (Indonesia)
Issue 4, 2002
40 pages, sized A5, xerox. Finally I got the zine in printed form. I surfed her website but didn't read the articles featured there. I have to warn you that is not the typical underground zine. It is a bit too personal for some of you. The zine contains lots of article/opinion written by the editor a.k.a. Ira. Some articles tell about herself, her life, etc. Quite interesting to read some of them and also we can argue on some things with her. This is the kind of concept you can find in many punk/hc zine. No review but interviews included; Despairance, Arkhaytulmayt, Sickoz Zine, Killharmonic, Dry Kill Logic, Seek Six Sick, Pukenvomit Distro and a rare interview none of the editors in the scene will do; interview with an African ambassador in Indonesia talking about apartheid (she really made it). I give extra marks for the articles and the interview with that ambassador. The other interview is quite normal, can-read-from-bio questions.
c/o Nadhira Nishaa, 3745,Tower 2, Palma Citra Condo, Jln Gatot Subroto, Kav 26-27, Jakarta 12710, INDONESIA.
uselesspieceofshit@hotmail.com

2.5/5

FRIENDHELPFRIEND (Malaysia)
Issue 1, 2000

I think I am getting old or something since I can't remember well. I bought this zine in a local metal shop and later found out that I am also one of their contributors. I don't read this so-called 'all-rounder' zine because I don't want to know anything else than metal but this one is an excuse because of the CRYPTIC MALEDICTION interview (the only metal band and the only interesting part of this zine) and the pro-printed cover. And I think the content is also pro-printed but the printing quality is the worse I have seen so far. Some band bios available, as well as gig report, review and articles. They put page number but no table of content, 38-page, A4-size, English written and neat but ordinary MS Word layout. The layout can be improved I guess. And beside interview with band, they also interview some individual discussing some topic. I like this column but the topic they choose is not interesting.
c/o Syaiful Haizan, Lot 5486, Kg. Nakhoda Kanan, 68100 Batu Caves, Selangor, Malaysia.
Blind_scholar@hotmail.com

2/5

FLESH SALAD (Spain)
Issue 3

30+ page, A4 size and I guess it is laser xeroxed. Looks almost like a professional magazine and if the picture can be printed better, the result will be more satisfying. 3 column per page and I think background image should not be use in a publication like this and adding table of content will make the zine more professional. Interviews with Dying Fetus, Silvermachine, Cenotaph, General Surgery, Forest Of Impaled, Vomit Remnants, The Gathering, Qabalah Production and Vomitory. Also available a column where they publish the letter/email they receive after they spamming them with their mails. And another column called "The Bizarre Questionnaire" where a series of same questions being asked to some person (this time Burt of Agathocles and John of Desecration). These two column are quite interesting.
Flesh Salad Mag., P.O.Box 31, 08950 Esplugues De LL. Barcelona, Spain
3.5/5

HIDDEN THRONE (Bosnia)
Issue 2, October 2001
Interviews: Aurora Borealis, Anasarca, Beheaded, Centurian, Exposing Innards, Insision, Into Eternity, Serpens Aeon, Severe Torture, Somnus, Voices From The Darkside 'Zine. English written, 36 A5 pages, xeroxed. You might never expect a zine to come out from this land, right? There is not much info available on Bosnian scene so I am a bit dissappointed with this issue. The content is okay, the xerox quality should be better than this. New issues are already released.
c/o Adnan Hatic, Vladimira Kazora 2 7/29, 75000 Tuzla, Bosnia and Herzegovina. hiddenthronezine@yahoo.com

3/5

ICONTOMB (Portugal)
Issue 1, 2000

48-page, A4 size, all in glossy paper. Good layout and almost all reviews include its front cover. Interviews are just ordinary one that discuss only about the band's music. Interview with Godgory, Depressy, Varathron, Posthumous, Malevolence, In Tha Umbra, Trails Of Tears, Hecate Enthroned, Maniac Butcher, Krabathor, Pandemia, Entrails, Root, Primordal and also Czech scene report, gig report and an article on Baphomet Myth. This zine is collaboration between Icon Prod and Hecatombe Promotions, 2 Portuguese labels. The next issue will include free CD sampler. Bands and label are encouraged to write for info.
Icon Productions, c/o Richardo Ribeiro, Apartado 11, 2426-908 Monte Redondo-Leiria, Portugal.
Icon.prod@mail.telepac.pt
Hecatombe Promotions, c/o Hernani A.F., Rua Dr. Oliveira Salazar, 23 2425-044 Monte Real, Portugal.
hecatombe666@hotmail.com
3/5

KANANULARK (Malaysia)
Issue 2, Mac 2002
80 page, full size, xerox and written in Malay. Interview: Almarhum, As-Sahar, Azmaniarkh, Batara Guru (old interview from their 1st issue), Holy Flesh Records, Inside, Nebiula Productions, Kremation, Manggas, Mantak, Shamanic Rites, Sihrumubin Newsletter. Others also include some articles, scene reports and lyrics of Malaysian black/death songs. The content is just okay, good questions but the band don't know how to answer it right. Well arranged layout except that the fonts is too big sometimes and also include table of content, which you can rarely see in local zine scene. The printing and xerox quality is bad must be improved for the next issue.
c/o Othman Yusof, 10, Tmn Lovelyland, Jln Bt. Kawa, 93250 KUching, Sarawak, Malaysia.
kananulark@hotmail.com
3/5

KEMENYAN (Malaysia)
Issue 7, May 2002
80 A5 pages, xerox, written in English. Interviews: Einherjer, Rebaelliun, Grim Force, Anorexia, Impiety, Langsuir, As Sahar, Nebiras, Blackfire, Wounds and Hecate Enthroned. If I am not mistaken, Rammy said #6 is his last issue but I guess he can't relax himself by only playing in bands. Layout can be made better. Some interviews are taken from his old issues after people asking for the previous-and-now-sold-out issues. At the bottom of page he put some quote of bands taken from numerous sources. Others; review, lyrics and articles on sick sexual perverts. The interview with Blackfire (Malaysian pioneer of black/thrash metal) is quite interesting. This is the first time I guess they're being interviewed but quite disappointing to know Adi's views on certain things.
c/o Rammy, 666 Kg. Repoh, 01000 Kangar, Perlis, Malaysia. kemenyan.fanzine@lycos.com

3/5

Komamaut

KOMAMAUT (Malaysia)
Issue 2, 2000

This zine is too messy and not well-edited. The interviews are boring. The copy I got is not even stapled properly. 72 A4 pages, badly xeroxed, written in Malay/English. Some interviews are with Infernal Poetry, Mintras, Entrails, Soulless Divine and some more bands/projects and mostly are from oversea. The way they asked the questions looked like they are asking for free promo! This kind of attitude sucks! I interview the band which I really like and I think all underground editor should have this kind of attitude! Also included are reviews, articles, lyrics, and news and band bios. They have to work more on the layout and the interviews and use other xerox shop.
Ahmad Izanni Zainuddin, 508 Taman Sri Semantan 3B, 28000 Temerloh, Pahang.
hail_kill66@hotmail.com sickness_maut@hotmail.com
2/5

Komamaut

KOMAMAUT (Malaysia)
Issue 3, 2001

This issue shows some improvement and glad to see they have changed. Still 74 A4 pages (this time stapled!), not so good xerox quality (but a bit better than before). Written in Malay/English. The layout has been improved and so does the interviews. Interviews are with Exhumate, The Forgotten, Nathias, Cenotaph, Steel Madness, God and few more. They still need to improve the layout and the xerox quality.
Ahmad Izanni Zainuddin, 508 Taman Sri Semantan 3B, 28000 Temerloh, Pahang.
hail_kill66@hotmail.com sickness_maut@hotmail.com
2.5/5

LEATHER N' SPIKE (Canada)
Issue 5, 2001
36 page, A4 size, xerox, written in English. Interview: Nifelheim, Thornspawn, Mayhem, Scorched-Earth, Myrkskog, Phantasma, Diabolicum, Siren, Depresy, Homicide, a NS/WP crap band Before God, and few more. Nicely done in old cut n paste style. The special feature of this issue is article of VOIVOD. Interesting read with lotd of pictures, flyers, etc of the band. Also available are scene repors, articles and a metal crossword puzzle (damn hard to solve it). The front cover features the editor herself. Hmm.. Perhaps I will put the pictures of myself and the contributors in the next issue of Steel Madness. She also put some quotes that are put upside down at the bottom of every page.
c/o Cath, 35 Brousseau, Loretteville QC, G2A 2R2, Canada.
clac@globetrotter.net
3.5/5

LEATHER N' SPIKE (Canada)
Issue 6, 2001
38 page, A4, clear xerox. This is as good as issue #5 content-wise. As usual the interviews are interesting. The best is the Dissection article, complete with all the info about the band that you can or can't think of. I will never buy anything related with this WP/NS thing but I got this by trading with Slava Zine from Thailand. Get someone to copy you the Dissection article.
3.5/5

MAGENTA NAILS (Finland)
Issue 1, 2000

An all-rounder zine. 48-page, A4/2 size, English written, xeroxed and 2-column per-page. Very neat layout I must say. Interview/info on PIK, Good Music, Overkill, G-Cheese, Azaghal, Paradigma, Astray, Forgotten Sunrise and Clan Valle Crucis as well as reviews and news. It has more metal than other music and that's a relieve. A good debut issue. Perhaps adding a table of content makes it much better.
c/o Teemu Malpinen, Lehdokkipolku 6, 42100 Jamsa, Finland.
eleanoora@hotmail.com
3.5/5

MANGKAT (Malaysia)
Issue 1, 2001

80+ pages, A4 size, xerox, handwritten in Malay. This kid is a bit left behind since others used computer or at least a typewriter. You bet this zine is messy and Ikhwan’s handwriting is not interesting to be looked at. I can’t even differentiate which one is the question and which one is the answer. But I like the way he arrange the interviews and some interviews are quite interesting. Page number and table of content included. If Ikhwan follow the right step, he can make Mangkat a lot better than other zine in the scene.
c/o Ikhwan, No. 12-A, Kampung Serkat Laut, 82030 Pontian, Johor.
2.5/5

METAL COMMAND (Malaysia)
Issue 1, 2001

Interview with Sil Khannaz, Almarhum, Pyron, The Raven, Euthanasia, Kremation, Samartary, Astaroth, Shamanic Rites (Malaysia), Azaghal, Devilry (Finland), Unseen Darkness, Kuburan, Kremush (Indonesia), Sadistory, Eternal Throne, Bunuh, Erebus (Singapore) Paganizer (Sweden), Krvestreb (Turkey), Feeble Minded (Czech), Effluvium (Philippines). I am surprised at first, looking at the front cover. It’s in color. And about the content, the interviews are just ordinary and not interesting. Typical questions and you will get typical answer except for some bands that answer it interestingly. What makes this zine a lot better than other Malay-written zine is the review is like a review. Most the zine here don't know how to review and usually their review is just like words for flyers or words taken directly from flyers. That show most of the editor lack of lots of thing that an editor should have. Writing something in Malay should not be that hard because Malay-language is their mother tongue and these guys in METAL COMMAND show they a bit better than the rest. Only the interview should be improved. They should study a bit about the band and the music to create an interesting and informative interview.
Shukri @ Krypthor, 91 Kampong Alor Gunung, Mukim Pumpung, 05150 Alor Setar, Kedah, Malaysia.
3/5

METAL CURSE (usa)
Issue 12

50+ page, almost as big as A4-size publication and all in glossy paper. Interview with Impetigo, Macabre, S.O.D. Deicide, Blood Ritual, Vore, Acheron and Morbid Angel. Nothing else to comment since everything is fine here except for the advertisement. Some of the ads are (the print) not clear of sharp enough. It also comes with a free CD. I haven't had the time to count whether there are 666 reviews (demos, vinyl, compilation, adult videos). There's a section called "Dear Death". Readers send some silly question and then answered by Death, which is quite hilarious. The front cover is one of the best I have ever seen. I like their way of manipulating nudity and that is how Steel Madness paper issue will look like in the future.
Cursed Production, P.O.Box 302, Elkhart, IN 46515-0302, USA.
cursed@sbinet.com http://tahoe.sbinet.com/~cursed
3.5/5

METAL FORCE (Ukraine)
Issue 4, 2001

Interviews featured are with Ar, Black Inquisition, Castrum, Datura, Flying, Noctunal Dominium, Nothing Else, Sacrament, Vader, Vae Solis. I don’t know how to rate this. Everything is in Russian. What I can comment is they can make a much better layout next time. It is like using MS Word or something, with the simple column and layout. It will be great if I can understand what have been written. Lots of info Russian scene I guess. Anyway, Metal Force is also a label. Check out the website.
Vadim Shatniy, P.O.Box 94, Kryrviy Rig, Dnipropetrovsk Region, 50102, Ukraine.
metalforce@ingok.com.ua http://come.to/metalforce

METAL STORM (Malaysia)
Issue 1, 2000

Zulhisham is known with his black metal mag released years ago namely NOCTURNAL SLAVES. A great zine back then in 1994/95, pro-printed and thick with infos on black metal worldwide. Now he is back with METAL STORM. I have a lot of questions in my head and I do hope he will answer my long interview since I think it quite interesting to know what happen to all his projects and the most important thing is about this new mag. Malay-written, 50+ page, good layout, great content and available in the open market. Is Malaysia ready for this kind of publication to be sold in public? Not like METAL TERUS which is a bit 'cleaner', but this mag features the true image of metal (with spike, bullet-belt, corpse paint, inverted cross). Interview with Impiety, Nocturnal Orchestra and Atomizer (Australia) and the usual stuffs, review and news. The most interesting part is the section on BRAIN DEAD (full history of this Malaysian death metal legend!) and 12-page article on history of thrash. Almost a killer magazine! The mistake is on the Brain Dead section. Only 1 column used and then he put pictures in the middle and that makes my reading so 'easy'. And I also think the layout can be improved.
Metal Storm Magazine, P.O. Box 96, Pejabat Pos Majidee, 81100 Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia.
metallicstorming@hotvoice.com
4.5/5

METAL STORM (Malaysia)
Issue 2, 2000

5 month later, another issue out and it seems the plan to release this mag bimonthly is not a success. More crew has been recruited this time. They really take the comment of Brain Dead section seriously after many readers complaining about that including me and I have been titled to receive a free t-shirt. Hehehe. Quite funny actually thinking about this. Everything is like the previous issue. Nothing has changed. Interviews with Sil Khannaz, Narsamum, Vociferation Eternity, Tasyim, Putrefaction Zine. This time is a tribute to the legendary RATOR! Really informative with complete info on Rator. And continuing from the previous issue, an article on history of death metal. In this issue, more new column have been introduce, including review section on old LP/demos released in the 80's. Also include report and picture of IMPIETY 'crushing' Europe!
Metal Storm Magazine, P.O. Box 96, Pejabat Pos Majidee, 81100 Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia.
metallicstorming@hotvoice.com
4.5/5

NARFROTURGH (Malaysia)
Issue 2 2001
Issue 3 2002
It took 3 years for Rudi to release the second issue of the newsletter. From issue #2, the newsletter is available for free (4 page, A4, xerox). Issue #2 and #3 has the same layout. He put some news, reviews and some interview. Interview in Issue #2; Auld Honie and Langsuyr + 2 article. Issue #3, intie with; Narrator, Majestic East and Sakramoth. All bands are Malay and the newsletter is in Malay with no graphic or picture. Just text.
c/o Rudi, No. 9 Jalan 1/3b, 43650 Bandar Baru Bangi, Selangor, Malaysia. r_ibliziel@yahoo.com

3/5

NATHIAS (Malaysia)
Issue 8, April 2001

I received issue #6, #7 and #8 just couple of days before D. Legions dateline and I don't have time to read them all. Although issue #6 (1998) and #7 (2000) are still available but for me (after looking through the pages), issue #8 is much better layout-wise. NATHIAS is one of Malaysia's long running Extreme Metal underground publication and getting better every issue. I last read issue #5 in 1997 (I think, I can't remember) but I did not hope much to see another issue of this zine since I heard a lot of Suffian's projects has been stopped due to career commitment, relocating, etc. And suddenly, I received 3 issues and I am shock at first. First it is great to know NATHIAS is still alive and secondly the first editor that sent their zine for review! This issue is very well layout, clearly xeroxed and he understand the limitation of a xerox publication i.e. avoiding the background image and know the right tone when he use it. Interviews are in the same style that I remembered, questions are long where 1 question consists of couple of questions. Interviews are quite interesting although the questions are just the ordinary questions about music but the band knows how to answer it well. Interviews with CIMMERIAN PATH (Lebanon), CRANIAL TORMENT (Greece), DAWN OF APOCALYPSE (Hong Kong), DEFORMITY BR (Brazil), DEVASTATION INSIDE (Italy), FUNERAL RITES (Japan), KORIHOR (Philippines), KRATORNAS (Philippines), KREMATION (Malaysia), KULT OV AZAZEL (USA), MAGANE (Japan), MOONSHINE (Korea), MYSTERIIS (Brazil), SANATORIUM (Slovakia), SCARED (Yugoslavia), SEASONAL ABYSS (Malaysia), SWORD OF DARKNESS (Vietnam), VINTAGE SOLEMNITY (Turkey), and VRYKOLAKAS (Singapore). 5 informative scene reports i.e. Arab Countries, Denmark, El Salvador, Peru, and Uruguay. 2 music-oriented articles entitled 'Exposing the Selfish Gene in Metal' and 'The Problems of Power in Extreme Metal'. There are also some interviews where Suffian put it into some column to make it interesting but honestly it does not matter if he added them to the regular interview section. For example in 'Rare & Exotic' has the interview with NAHUAL (Peru). The other band in this column CRYPTIC FATE (Bangladesh), featured their bio. Other 'interestingly named' column 'Archipelagic Supremacy' covers the metal scene in South East Asia region, 'International Highlight' provides updates of the worldwide metal movement, 'Nathiasifieds' advertises metal/underground related stuff, huge list of contact addresses in 'Hail Metal Hail', recommended websites in 'Metal Links', and some great poems in 'Gallery Of Poetry'. The price is RM7.00 (Malaysia) / USD4.00 (South East Asia) / USD5.00 (Rest of the World).
Sufian Mohamed Salleh, G410 Tingkat 4 Blok G, Apartmen Julia, Bandar Baru Selayang Fasa 2B, 68100 Batu Caves, Selangor, Malaysia.
nathiasmag@yahoo.com http://www.geocities.com/nathiasmag
4/5

NATHIAS (Malaysia)
Issue 7, 2000
An old issue, which I got together with issue #8. Layout-wise, #8 is much better but this doesn't mean #7 is bad. Just the typography here is not as neat and as the new one. Interview with; Via Dolorosa, Morbifik, Immolation, Reign Of Terror, Gematria, Tristania, Godblood, Testament, Limbonic Art, Exkrement, Amon Amarth and Sinister. Other features; (outdated) news, Peruvian scene report, poetry and reviews (mostly with front cover artwork). The interviews are done by several contributors so the level of 'interestingness' differ from one another but content-wise, they are quite interesting (even reading the old news). Beside the layout, the print quality is not top notch. Canon Bubble Jet printer (I definitely sure he use this) sucks! This issue is still available and a must-have for fans of NATHIAS (among Malaysian longest running zine!).
3/5

Neftaraku

NEFTARAKU Newsletter (Malaysia)
Issue 1, 2001

Komamaut’s editor made this newsletter. 32 pages, A4 size, 90% written in Malay. Why made a newsletter when the content is just like Komamaut or better said in zine format. There are news, interviews, reviews, band bios, etc. The layout here is a bit better than Komamaut 2nd issue. I only spot 2 differences between his two projects. First is he made page numbering (but no table of content), which you will not find in Komamaut and interviews are with zine/label/non-band related projects.
Ahmad Izanni Zainuddin, 508 Taman Sri Semantan 3B, 28000 Temerloh, Pahang.
hail_kill66@hotmail.com sickness_maut@hotmail.com
2/5

RANDOM (Malaysia)
Issue 4, 2001

Mre than a year, comes the new issue and brings you interview with Aeturnus, Impaled Nazarene, Garden Of Shadows, Doxomedon, Thy Serpent, The Great Kat, Orodo Draconis, Nomicon, The Kuntaucult, God Dethroned, Impending Doom, SSS Production and Tasyim. Shahrizwan's way of doing his interview is one of the things that make me looking forward to have this issue although it took 1 and a half year. The wait is finally over and again, contains interesting interview and lots of improvements. The layout has been changed (much more professional this time), clear xerox, new staffs (assisting anything except writing) and the cover is glossy printed. The review (audio stuffs only) is now using rating system. I can't find any flaw in this zine except for the pictures is not printed clearly (that's the problem enlarging small size graphic file and maybe they also printing using low resolution file?) and I think background image is not suitable for a xerox zine. Let me tell you something, from all the zines in Malaysian underground scene there are only few zine that really worth the support and RANDOM is one of them, beside NATHIAS, ULTIMATE DARKNESS (maybe 1 or two more) and some pro-printed 'commercial' metal magazines. Other than these, you are just wasting your time buying/contacting. New zine (and also to zines which already released lots of issue) buy this and learn! Shahrizwan complained about lack of support from local bands and labels. My personal opinion is most of local labels (and the bands under their label) only care about promotion abroad because all their releases is easily available in the cassette shop and the news spread pretty fast in the local scene. And some labels don't care enough about promotion abroad as well. What matter is they can sell their stuffs locally and get the money they needed and that's it (pity the bands under this label). The thing that matters is boasting their sales and has their name known in some pro-printed magazine abroad. They don't think that zine like us who have their zine distributed by underground distro worldwide and most of the readers/buyers (from the distro) do not bother reading magazine like Terrorizer. They (the readers which consist of editors, other distro, bands, etc) are much more supportive and dedicated to obscure scene like Malaysia. And demo bands do not bother sending promos because they are afraid of honest review from the editor like Shahrizwan and prefer sending them to their friend for good reviews. I also face the same thing in making this zine. I sometimes think I am wasting my time doing South East Asia Metal Force due to this kind of attitude. Fuck them all! But RANDOM as the definite English written Malaysian zine? We are now in the scene man. Don't be so sure about that. Hehehe.
c/o Shahrizwan Shamsuddin, 224, Jln. Abd. Rahman, Kaw. Per. Melayu, Kg. Baru, 28700 Bentong, Pahang, Malaysia.
besteel@hotmail.com
4.5/5

Sarang Maut

SARANG MAUT (Malaysia)
Issue 6, 2000

I have read couples of issues and this is the first one he made using computer and it is a bit neat compare with the previous issues. According to Carcass Satanic (only now I know his name is Khairul Anuar), Sarang Maut stopped at issue #5. This issue is a collection of the best interview he made in 1996-1998 and adds some new interviews he never publishes before. To make this a complete issue, reviews and lots of SEAsian metal news have been added too. Cool concept. Interviews (all translated into Malay): Samartary, Bloodstorm, Dead Meat, Sermon, Paradigma, Meleschech, Lividity, Pessimist, Kratornas, Warloghe, Immanis, Witch-Hunt, Bunuh, Ritual Orchestra, Scepter and few more. If I want to make this kind of special issue, it will be very special indeed. As for this one, just an ordinary release but a bit better then Sarang Maut previous issue layout-wise. Khairul should write a bit more for the introduction of the interview for example telling which issue is that interview is taken from, some latest info about the band and why he choose that interview. There are few more things that are not done correctly in my eyes but that does not matter since this is the last issue. Khairul also plays in band called SAMARTARY and I think that is one of the reasons why he quit this zine.
Khairul Anuar, Box 2736, Kg. Nako, 06300 Kuala Nerang, Kedah.
3/5

SIHRUMUBIN Newsletter (Malaysia)
Issue 2, Mac 2001

The editor of this zine was the editor of Belchepon Zine (read the review in the previous issue). I am not sure what the reason he stop making the zine. That zine is quite good actually. But this newsletter is thousand times better. The layout, the content and the xerox quality are almost excellent. The background of this 28 pages zine (A4/2 size) is black and it didn’t loose or over tone. The text and pictures are clear. The content are interviews with Surrender Of Divinity and Korihor, news, Poland scene report, zine/audio reviews, band bio and some articles and all these are written in Malay. I think for the next issue Faizal should include his contact address in the newsletter. I am also wanted seek an apology from Faizal. He sent his newsletter since issue #0 but only now I manage to review it. What I can say about issue #0 and #1. All are in the same quality with this issue. If you like the concept and the style of interview, review and article in this issue, you might also like the previous one. Or putting it another way round, if you like the previous one you will also like this.
c/o M. Faizal Abd. Rahman, 40 Kg. Pulau Tiga, Jln. Stesen, 35000 Tapah, Perak.
faizal_666@yahoo.com http://welcome.to/sihrumubinnewsletter
4/5

SLAYER (Norway)
Issue 13, 2000

"The Final Kommand" is the title for this issue and this is my first Slayer Magazine. After reading a lot of good thing about this zine, now I finally have a copy. 108 pages, A4 size. It will be great to compare this issue with the older issue. As for this one, and I am not sure whether all issues before issue #11 looks like (the zine start to look like this since issue #11), all page uses border but not really a neat one. There are lots of blank spaces between the column and around the border. The interviews are okay and some are really great, and some interview from old issue also put here. Even interview with IT of ABRUPTUM also included although without answer and since nobody know where IT is, I think the question will remain unanswered. Lots of 'vintage' picture of old bands, letter (in original form) are put here and there. Interviews with Bård Faust, Nifelheim, Soul Reaper, Dracena, Necrodeath, Funeral Mist, Destruction, Dark Angel, classic Mayhem, Witchery, Children Of Bodom, Celtic Frost, Obscurity, Triumphator and tons more. Some articles also available, as well as (short) review and everything is arrange very primitively, or as said by many, the 'Slayer style'.
Slayer Magazine, P.O.Box 447, 1703 Sarpsborg, Norway.
http://www.angelfire.com/extreme/slayermagazine
4/5

SLAVA FANZINE (Thailand)
Issue 1, 2001
88 A5 pages with color pro-print cover. Primitive layout, in the cut 'n paste way which looks nice. It will be great if the xerox quality is clearer. Interviews with: Tragedy Begins, Atavism (Greece), Korihor, Kratornas (Philippines), Vintage Solemnity (Turkey), Vrykolakas, Eternal Throne, Prologue Ad Nocturne (Singapore), Bloody Gore (Indonesia), Myring, Mortal Zine, Northern Sound Records (Finland), Nomenmortis (Slovakia), Nyarlahotep, Infernal Necromancy (Japan), Soils OF Fate (Sweden), Grindstone (Germany), Forgotten Silence, Kuma Rafinata (Czech), Canadian Assault (USA), & Deathguy, Surrender Of Divinity (Thailand). And there is also 7-pages Thai scene report (you can read this in Steel Madness Issue #2) and some music & zine reviews. Quite interesting interview and it is in English. This zine comes with a professional 90 minutes compilation tape featuring 21 bands; side A for brutal death and side B for black, etc. Available for USD 7 (Asia) & USD 8 (elsewhere).
c/o Natthaphon Kamonsin, 64/99 M. 1 Bangkrui-Sainoi Rd., Bangkrang, Muang, Nanthaburi 11000, Thailand. iamsatanist@darksites.com

4/5

SONIC SPLENDOUR (Turkey)
Issue 2, 2001

I didn’t expect Turkey have a professional magazine like this. The mag is A4 size news print format. The first thing they should do for the next issue is adding page numbers and the table of content. Nothing else I can comment. Maybe reduce the size of the text make the mag better and reduce the page size (and the price). I think it is not necessary to put background image on the review section unless they put naked girls instead of wearing bikini. Interviews with Dusk, On Thorns I Lay, Callenish Circle, Dying fetus, Whispering galley, Dragon Design, Silent Scream Of Godless Elegy, Ordo Draconis, You & Me and Sapikinek. Others are reviews of zine/audio, comics and 1 page review on the movie called “eXistenZ”. The new issue should be out by now.
c/o Utku Usta, P.K.4, ODTU, 06531 Ankara, Turkey.
zakk_the_loser@yahoo.com
c/o Can Baskent, P.K.14, Odtu, 06351 Ankara, Turkey.
canbaskent@yahoo.com

3/5

THE FANG  (Malaysia)
Issue 0, 2001

32 A4/2, clear xerox gothic fanzine, cut n’ paste format. This might be the first gothic fanzine in Malaysian underground scene. This introduction issue featured articles, some poems and all are written in Malay. Not really interesting for me. Let us wait for the next issue.
The Fang Zine, No 11, Jalan Jati SD 4/6, Sri Damansara, 52200 Kuala Lumpur.
2.5/5

The Medium

THE MEDIUM (USA)
Issue 1
16 pages in newsprint format with no graphic except for the zine’s logo on the front page. Beside interviews (8 of them, with some book author and some metal projects including Holycaust Records), Cameron include some terrifying info either about the music scene or other non-music related things. Examples of the info are how Christian (church) in USA got their fund, how corporate suck money from the artist and get more money than the artist and how sick and these corporate bastards are. This zine is freely distributed. If you buy this from someone, then fuck him/her off. The next issue will feature more interviews, reviews (which are not available in this issue) and also some graphics as eye pleaser.
c/o Cameron Dominick, 304 West Circular St., Saratoga Springs, NY 12866, USA
vermin@altereduniverse.com
3/5

TALES OF THE MACABRE (Germany)
Issue 6

I have an old issue of TOTM but couldn't remember which issue that is but there is a poster of HELLHAMMER in that issue. That was years ago, and now the latest issue and as far as I remember, they still in the same layout. Interviews are still with lots of underground metal act and those with the old cult bands are quite interesting. Interviews : Alpha Centauri, Possessed, Avenger, Mayhemic Truth, Witchfynde, Pagan Rites, Inquisition, Dekapitator, Gospel Of The Horns, Venom, Hadez, Denial Of God, Slaughter Lord, Asphyx, Tom Warrior, Nifelheim, Warlord Records, Blitzkrieg, Nunslaughter, Zemial and Black Angel. Also a special column for old LP review, "Forgotten Jewels", and an article "Bootleg Attack...Cult or Fashion" beside the usual reviews. A great back cover with Zemial's picture! 56 pages, all glossy print, A4 size, no table of content.
Costa Stoios, P.O.Box 1462, 56804 Cochem/Mosel, Germany.
4/5

THRONE OF TORMENT (Italy)
Issue 1
9
6 A4 pages, xerox and in Italian. Clean, clear and nice looking layout. Since it is written in Italian, I can't comment on the content. The zine is thick due to large font size. There are 27 (!) interviews and among them are Fleshless, Impious, CSSO, Drakkar Production. They also interview and review some Italian bands which is quite interesting to know how they sound like. The new issue will be in English.
c/o Lord F L @ Francesco Lotti, Via Carducci 55, 50054 Fucecchio (FI), Italy. throneoftorment@lycos.it

TREATS FROM THE UNDERGROUND! (usa)
Issue 5, 2000

A4 size, 50+ page, cover glossy printed and the content is in newsprint. The layout is the thing can be improved if 3 columns per page used instead of 2. Everything is well-arrange. There are 22 interviews and some of the interesting one with Brutallized and GWAR. There are lots of reviews as well. Not a must have magazine but interview with GWAR is rarely can be read in other zine.
Treats From The Underground!, P.O.Box 1236, Pottstown, PA. 19464 USA
beowolfco@aol.com
3/5

TRIPALIUM (Philippines)
Issue 2, 2002
52 page, A4, clear xerox. Layout-wise, have some improvements. Killer front cover artwork by Juanjo Castellano! Interesting interviews (as usual) with Psychotogen, Fjelltrone, Id, Underworld Zine, Anphisbenah, graphic artist Juan Castellano, Incarion, Throneum, Thursday, Rot, Prophecy, Divine Rapture, Intervalle Bizarre, Effluvium, Autumn Tears/Dark Symphonies Records, Nunslaughter, Septicemia, Mourning Beloveth, Bizarre Leprous Productions, Cyber Angel, Sanatorium and Bloodthorn. This time the layout is much better but there are still some typo mistakes. I guess Roel should read everything before he get’s the zine printed.
c/o Roel Mores, 081 Paradahan 1, Tanza 4108 Cavite, Philippines.
http://go.to/tripalium  rgmores@yahoo.com

4/5

 

TRIPALIUM (Philippines)
Issue 1, 2001
56 page, A4, clear xerox. Limited paper edition of this webzine. How many copies are available? I am not sure about that but hundreds of copies I guess. Is that 'limited'? Looks like normal zine to me. (Steel Madness is also a webzine and the paper issue is limited to 500 x). The interviewed: Punished Earth, Crowhead, Epicedium, Cinerary, Fuck The Facts, Deathguy, M.A.D.:Goya, Grindstone, Bloodshed, Inhumate, Descend and Philippines' Imsomnia (now in US), Korihor, Decapitated, and Rumblejelly. Nice computerized layout but the font is quite big. Quite messy for my eyes but still everything are readable with lots of pictures. There are also some typo mistakes but it’s forgivable.
c/o Roel Mores, 081 Paradahan 1, Tanza 4108 Cavite, Philippines.
http://go.to/tripalium  rgmores@yahoo.com

3/5

Todark

TODARK (Malaysia)
Issue 1, 2000

They design a neat flyer, which I rarely see in the local scene. I thought they are good in layout, typo so I put high expectation on this zine. But it doesn’t look like the flyers. 84 A4 pages xeroxed publication. The interviews are divided into couple of sections. “Utusan Kemenyan” features interview with Herriot, Arkhaytulmayt, Mortuary Ancestor, Psychotic Sufferance, and Tasyim. “Keranda Berdarah” featured Abattoir (Singapore, now Abattory), Auld Hornie, Cryptic Malediction, Medieval and Psychic Scream Ent. Lastly “Wasiat Berasap” with Visitant, Kremation, Hayagriva, and Sakramoth. The reason of the editor doing that is not mention. On each section, there is some info about the bands interviewed. The interview questions are too ordinary and not really informative. Guitar tab local metal songs also available. The things that have to be done for the next issue is improve the interviews, the layout and the photocopy quality.
c/ o M. Shahrizad, No 14, Jalan Muhibbah, Taman Nirwana Indah, 45300 Sg. Besar, Selangor.
mussuffer@mailcity.com or shahjehanbanjabar@yahoo.com
2.5/5

TORNADO (Denmark)
Issue 1, 1998

Yes, this zine is outdated. But it is still available (very few copies left) and I think the content is still great to be read. A cute A4 folded into two (A4/2), 32 pages and clear xerox zine. Neat layout, 2 column perpage, no table of content but have page number. Interviews with Twisted Tower Dire, Apollyon, Blazing Eternity, Moonblood, Thus Defiled, Mortuary Drape, Denial Of God, Solens Skygge, Suicidal Winds, Feikn, Warhammer, GG Allin, Wood Nympyh Records, some band bios and reviews. A column called "Death From The Past" where Ustumallagam review his old vinyl collection (very informative indeed). You might know that Ustumallagam also play in DENIAL OF GOD but he interview his own band (answered by Azter). That is quite strange. A special back cover, a picture of a person with a toothbrush in his ass. Is that you Ustumallagam?
c/o Ustumallagam, Norager 10C, 1. MF., DK-6400 Sonderborg, Denmark.
ghoul@get2net.dk http://tornadomagazine.cjb.net
3.5/5

TORNADO (Denmark)
Issue 2, 1999

Still in the same layout and the same style, but the number of page have grown to 44-page. Interviews with Strychnos, Nunslaughter, Acheron, Nortt, Puissance, Nifelheim, Impiety, Zoltar, Rebaellium, Sabbat, Grand Belial's Key, Beast Petrify, Acid Macabre, Sargatanas, Angelkill, Cogumelo Records, Varathron, Uranus some band bios and reviews. Ustumallagam didn't make "Death From The Past" in this issue. Basically, if you like the previous issue (the layout, the way Ustumallagam made his interview, everything) and the band featured here, this is your best purchase. The only improvement is the use of artwork for page border and the artwork is cool and not too messy. Interesting interviews are with IMPIETY and SABBAT!
Ustumallagam, Norager 10C, 1. MF., DK-6400 Sonderborg, Denmark.
ghoul@get2net.dk http://tornadomagazine.cjb.net
3.5/5

TORNADO (Denmark)
Issue 3, 2001

Still in TORNADO tradition, nothing have change since the last issue except for the page number (48 pages). This is the first time I am impressed with a zine that use artwork for border of the page. The artwork is great and Ustumallagam use every inch of the page. No blank space, no flyers pasted as 'filler', neat layout and even the space in between the two columns also have a border. Great!!! The Interviews with Crypthowl, Posthumous, Impaler, Unholy Massacre, Rigor Mortis, Damien Thorne, Koldborn, Macabre, Urn, Death SS and some band bios. Others are (as usual) review, a gig report, scene report (on South East Asia metal), a section called "Listen In Terror" (opinion asked to some persons about a song from an LP. 15 songs have been chosen for this first time and all are from old LPs. Interesting !) and this a special section for interview on labels although in the past issue he already made it but does not specifically name the column. And also no continuation of "Death From The Past" column. The interview with MACABRE is quite funny for me. I think Corporate Death (guitar/vocals) is a bit fucked up person for giving such answer. Haha! Another interesting read is the 'fuck off' list. Why do he hate Azter's (the boss of HORROR RECORDS, also play in DENIAL OF GOD) cat? Adding a table of content and maybe using white paper instead of red for the cover will make TORNADO a lot better.
Ustumallagam, Norager 10C, 1. MF., DK-6400 Sonderborg, Denmark.
ghoul@get2net.dk http://tornadomagazine.cjb.net
4.5/5

UNDERGROUND SCENE (USA)
Issue 14, 2002
16 pages, full size, newsprint format. Don't know the price, probably USD 1 or 2. This issue was specially made for a progressive metal fest there and this issue features mostly progressive metal. Interview: Balance Of Power, Paranoise, Katagory V, Silent Exile, Symmetry, Aztec Jade, and Elmer. Not only the intie, the reviews are also on progressive metal. The way they interviewed the band makes the band's release is something that we must get or buy.
Underground Scene, 618 West Harper Road Mason, MI 48854 USA.
zinescene@hotmail.com

3/5

WORSHIPSATAN (Thailand)
Issue 3, Oct 2001
48 pages, A5 size, clear xerox. I finished reading this zine in only 30 minutes (or maybe less). Why? Well, this zine is written in Thai and English and although there are some in English but the questions of the interview is in Thai. Even if I know Thai, I think the interview is not interesting. Based on the answer’s given, Yongyuth might ask the usual "what is the band history, how much the album sold, etc". This zine is targeted for local Thai only. Interviews with Entrails, Levifer, Root, Sword Of Darkness, Satan (Peru.), Secrets Of The Moon (Ger.). Beside this, he also adds lots of news taken from internet/e-news, which I have read too many times. The cover of the zine is xerox on red paper and wrap with plastic, which reminds me of my school days where I have to wrap my exercise book. Pity though, the xerox is almost excellent but not the content.
c/o Yongyuth Hongsa, P.O.Box 83, Huamark, Bangkok, 10243 Thailand.
worshipsatanmag@hotmail.com worshipsatanmag@yahoo.com

2.5/5